Skip to content

One Holiday At A Time…

November 7, 2011

I use one radio station at the shop.  Last week I had to change the station because they started playing Christmas songs.  Now, I love Christmas and I love singing along to Christmas songs with everyone else, but I can’t get in the mood for it at the beginning of November.  I need to have my holidays fall in the correct order and it seems so wrong to me to start celebrating Christmas before we have had a chance to celebrate Thanksgiving.

I love Thanksgiving.  I love how the weather starts to get cooler and the colorful leaves are everywhere.  I like to start decorating my home in fall colors and planning the Thanksgiving menu.  My husband and I are going to bake the turkey this year – our first one ever for such a special occasion.  I love that every day of the month we should remember to be thankful for something.  I love that my daddy will make his famous dressing using the homemade biscuits he’ll prepare that morning for breakfast and my mom will make sweet potato casserole and my mother-in-law will show up with all kinds of cookies and she’ll make meat pies…something I didn’t grow up with here in the South.

I don’t like the fast rush through Thanksgiving so that we can hurry up and buy, buy, buy for Christmas.  So, it was a great surprise to see the ad from Nordstrom saying that they are celebrating one holiday at a time.  Personally, I don’t often shop at Nordstrom, but I do like to visit their Atlanta store before Christmas and I will make certain to go again this year…road trip anyone?


I had already decided not to decorate the shop for Christmas until after Thanksgiving and I’m happy that I’m not alone.  So, enjoy your Thanksgiving, be thankful for everything and everyone and next time we will talk about the best holiday of all…Christmas.  Before you know it, it will be time take the family to see A Christmas Story at the Alabama Theater.  : )

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

